Part II: What I did with Lenovo TS140 in my Server and Storage I/O Review

March 31, 2014 – 9:36 pm

Storage I/O trends

Part II: Lenovo TS140 Server and Storage I/O Review


This is the second of a two part post series on my recent experiences with a Lenovo TS140 server, you can read part I here.

What Did I do with the TS140

After initial check out in an office type environment, I moved the TS140 into the lab area where it joined other servers to be used for various things.

Some of those activities included using the Windows Server 2012 Essentials along with associated admin activities. In addition I also installed VMware ESXi 5.5 and ran into a few surprises. One of those was that I needed to apply an update to VMware drivers to support the onboard Intel NIC, as well as enable VT and EP modes for virtualization assist via the BIOS. The biggest surprise was that I discovered I could not install VMware onto an internal drive attached via one of the internal SATA ports which turns out to be a BIOS firmware issue.

Lenovo confirmed this when I brought it to their attention and the workaround is to use USB to install VMware onto a USB flash SSD thumb drive, or other USB attached drive or to use external storage via an adapter. As of this time Lenovo is aware of the VMware issue however no date for new BIOS or firmware is available. Speaking of BIOS, I did notice that there was some newer BIOS and firmware available (FBKT70AUS December 2013) than what was installed (FB48A August of 2013). So I went ahead and did this upgrade which was smooth, quick and easy process. The process included going to the Lenovo site (see resource links below), selecting the applicable download, and then installing it following the directions.

Since I was going to install various PCIe SAS adapters into the TS140 attached to external SAS and SATA storage, this was not a big issue, more of an inconvenience Likewise for using storage mounted internally the workaround is to use a SAS or SATA adapter with internal ports (or cable). Speaking of USB workarounds, have a HDD, HHDD, SSHD or SSD that is a SATA device and need to attach it to USB, then get one of these cables. Note that there are USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 cables (see below) available so choose wisely.

USB to SATA cable
USB to SATA adapter cable

In addition to running various VMware based workloads with different guest VMs.

I also ran FUTREMARK PCmark (btw, if you do not have this in your server storage I/O toolbox it should be) to gauge the systems performance. As mentioned the TS140 is quiet, however it also has good performance depending on what processor you select. Note that while the TS140 has a list price as of the time of this post under $400 USD, that will change depending on which processor, amount of memory, software and other options you choose.

Futuremark PCmark
PCmark

PCmark testResults
Composite score2274
Compute11530
System Storage2429
Secondary Storage2428
Productivity1682
Lightweight2137

PCmark results are shown above for the Windows Server 2012 system (non virtualized) configured as shipped and received from Lenovo.

What I liked

Unbelievably quiet which may not seem like a big deal, however if you are looking to deploy a server or system into an small office workspace, this becomes an important considerations. Otoh, if you are a power user and want a robust server that can be installed into a home media entertainment system, well, this might be a nice to have consideration ;).

Something else that I liked is that the TS140 with the E3-1220 v3 family of processor supports PCIe G3 adapters which is useful if you are going to be using 10GbE cards or 12Gbs SAS and faster cards to move lots of data, support more IOPs or reduce response time latency.

In addition, while only 4 DIMM slots is not very much, its more than what some other similar focused systems have, plus with large capacity DIMMs, you can still get a nice system, or two, or three or four for a cluster at a good price or value (Hmm, VSAN anybody?). Also while not a big item, the TS140 did not require ordering a HDD or SSD if you are not also ordering software the system for a diskless system and have your own.

Speaking of IO slots, naturally I’m interested in Server Storage I/O so having multiple slots is a must have, along with the processor that is quad core (pretty much standard these days) along with VT and EP for supporting VMware (these were disabled in the BIOS however that was an easy fix).

Then there is the price as of this posting starting at $379 USD which is for a bare bones system (e.g. minimal memory, basic processor, no software) whose price increases as you add more items. What I like about this price is that it has the PCIe G3 slot as well as other PCIe G2 slots for expansion meaning I can install 12Gbps (or 6Gbps) SAS storage I/O adapters, or other PCIe cards including SSD, RAID, 10GbE CNA or other cards to meet various needs including software defined storage.

What I did not like

I would like to have had at least six vs. four DIMM slots, however keeping in mind the price point of where this system is positioned, not to mention what you could do with it thinking outside of the box, I’m fine with only 4 x DIMM. Space for more internal storage would be nice, however if that is what you need, then there are the larger Lenovo models to look at. By the way, thinking outside of the box, could you do something like a Hadoop, OpenStack, Object Storage, VMware VSAN or other cluster with these in addition to using as a Windows Server?

Yup.

Granted you wont have as much internal storage, as the TS140 only has two fixed drive slots (for more storage there is the model TD340 among others).

However it is not that difficult to add more (not Lenovo endorsed) by adding a StarTech enclosure like I did with my other systems (see here). Oh and those extra PCIe slots, that’s where a 12Gbs (or 6Gbps) adapter comes into play while leaving room for GbE cards and PCIe SSD cards. Btw not sure what to do with that PCIe x1 slot, that’s a good place for a dual GbE NIC to add more networking ports, or a SATA adapter for attaching to larger capacity slower drives.

StarTech 2.5" SAS and SATA drive enclosure on Amazon.com
StarTech 2.5″ SAS SATA drive enclosure via Amazon.com

If VMware is not a requirement and you need a good entry level server for a large SOHO or small SMB environment, or, if you are looking to add a flexible server to a lab or for other things the TS140 is good (see disclosure below) and quiet.

Otoh as mentioned, there is a current issue with the BIOS/firmware with the TS140 involving VMware (tried ESXi 5 & 5.5).

However I did find a work around which is that the current TS140 BIOS/Firmware does work with VMware if you install onto a USB drive, and then use external SAS, SATA or other accessible storage which is how I ended up using it.

Lenovo TS140 resources include

  • TS140 Lenovo ordering website
  • TS140 Data and Spec Sheet (PDF here)
  • Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Manual (PDF here)
  • Intel E3-1200 v3 processors capabilities (Web page here)
  • Lenovo Drivers and Software (Web page here)
  • Lenovo BIOS and Drivers (Web page here)
  • Enabling Virtualization Technology (VT) in TS140 BIOS (Press F1) (Read here)
  • Enabling Intel NIC (82579LM) GbE with VMware (Link to user forum and a blog site here)
  • My experience from a couple years ago dealing with Lenovo support for a laptop issue
  • Summary

    Disclosure: Lenovo loaned the TS140 to me for just under two months including covering shipping costs at no charge (to them or to me) hence this is not a sponsored post or review. On the other hand I have placed an order for a new TS140 similar to the one tested that I bought on-line from Lenovo.

    This new TS140 server that I bought joins the Dell Inspiron I added late last year (read more about that here) as well as other HP and Dell systems.

    Overall I give the Lenovo TS140 an provisional "A" which would be a solid "A" once the BIOS/firmware issue mentioned above is resolved for VMware. Otoh, if you are not concerned about using the TS140 for VMware (or can do a work around), then consider it as an "A".

    As mentioned above, I liked it so much I actually bought one to add to my collection.

    Ok, nuff said (for now)

    Cheers
    Gs

    Greg Schulz – Author Cloud and Virtual Data Storage Networking (CRC Press), The Green and Virtual Data Center (CRC Press) and Resilient Storage Networks (Elsevier)

    twitter @storageio

    All Comments, (C) and (TM) belong to their owners/posters, Other content (C) Copyright 2006-2015 Server StorageIO and UnlimitedIO All Rights Reserved

    1. 50 Responses to “Part II: What I did with Lenovo TS140 in my Server and Storage I/O Review”

    2. At the risk of being redundant, I just posted this on part I

      Update 4/5/14: As of yesterday I can confirm that at least with my new TS140s (just arrived) with no factory RAID 1 enabled the ability to recognize and use internal SATA drives and install VMware 5.5.x. This is different than the system I tested which had a two drive RAID 1 with Windows Server 2012 that for what ever reason prevented being able to recognize internal drives for other uses.

      Thus I convert the provisional “A” to an actual “A” for the TS140 for use with VMware (and other things), not to mention it (TS140) is playing nicely with my other servers ;)

      By greg schulz on Apr 5, 2014

    3. Hi Greg: I’m not sure if I understand correctly: is it true that the TS140 will run VMware 5.5 WITH soft Raid (provided by the MB).
      I try to install ESXi 5.5 after setup Raid 1 (soft) and the installation can see both drives, not the Raid.
      Then I installed a Raid Controller (LSI 9240 and never got into the Raid setup (Ctrl+H), when doing this the server hang up)
      In any case my situation is that I have this new server loaded with 20 Gb Memory, 2 HD’s 1TB each, and can’t get it work with ESXi 5.5
      Any suggestion?
      Thanks for your help.
      Ceka

      By Carlos Kloos on May 3, 2014

    4. Hello Carlos, I never tried the TS140 with VMware (any version) and the RAID on Motherboard. However using the internal SATA ports along with an adapter or RAID card, am able to install ESX 5.5 (1746018) just fine.

      The challenge seems to be when using Lenovo motherboards and any native or on board RAID and VMware.

      When you startup the TS140 with the LSI 9240, does it appear during the POST and give you the option of doing a Ctrl+H (also try Ctrl-M)? Or does it keep booting?

      If you remove the LSI card, do a clean boot, then put the card back in, does the TS140 ask about adding a card?

      What BIOS version are you running?

      As a very quick work around test, take one of your 1TB drives, assume its a SATA drive, and assuming you have an extra SATA internal cable laying around, attach it one of the drives and plug the drive into one of the available sata power connectors, turns out there are quiet a few extra open power connectors if you look for them.

      Then using USB or CD to boot and install VMware, see if you can see the 1TB drive and install on to it.

      Hope that helps, let me know how it goes… cheers gs

      By Greg Schulz on May 3, 2014

    5. Hello Greg, Yes, seems like Vmware can’t work with Soft Raids. Therefore I installed the 9240.

      Yes, I see the Ctrl H at boot up time and by pressing both keys the systems hangs. Ctrl M is not listed so I didn’t try that (I returned the card since the return window time was about to expire.)

      I did remove the card and the system boot up correctly. Since I never got into booting with the card I never managed to have drivers installed nor any OS. So in response to your question I couldn’t get into that point.

      The Bios is FBKT48AUS

      Here is what I found:
      I took the 9240 card (since sys was hanging) then at the Bios I setup Raid 1 for both 1TB drives. Then boot up again with ESXi in the CD drive, And proceed with the installation which was smooth. But the ESXi was incapable of “seen” the Raid, instead it listed both 1 TB drives and asked me where to install.. I choosed the first one.

      Once the ESXi ran I can’t see the 2nd HD but for the rest runs as expected.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      cheers back,
      Carlos

      By Carlos Kloos on May 5, 2014

    6. No worries Carlos, sounds like what Im seeing which is if using the onboard RAID drives are not visable, yet if using the on-board SATA ports, or other drives via adapter etc, then you can access them. Btw, which processor do you have in your TS140?

      By Greg Schulz on May 7, 2014

    7. Hi Greg, I own a TS140 model 70a4001LUX and I use all 4 SATA ports with 4 x 3Tb WD Red. I don’t want to use my RAID volume to put my Hyper-V so I need a PCIe SSD. Did you tried this setup?

      If I want to use SR-IOv or passthrough to write on my physical disks, do I need to add a RAID controller card or it can write on Sata ports?

      By Jean-Michel Aubry on May 13, 2014

    8. Hello @jeanmichelaubry:disqus and thanks for the note, I have not tried Hyper-V yet on the TS140 only VMware from a virtualization perspective. Without the RAID card you should be able to access the internal connected SATA drives as just individual drives, and then put the PCIe SSD into one of the top x8 PCIe slots unless the card is an x16. Btw, assume you have a single processor vs. two?

      By Greg Schulz on May 13, 2014

    9. Hi Greg, thx for prompt answer, I will create a RAID 5 volume, should it be accessible too?
      I effectively have a single CPU who is E3-1225v3.

      By Jean-Michel Aubry on May 14, 2014

    10. @Jean no worries, hopefully your Hyper-V will see the RAID-5 volume. The E3-1225v3 is the make and model of the CPU/processor.

      By Greg Schulz on May 15, 2014

    11. Hi Greg
      Good posting above.
      Can you confirm that the TS140 is capable of supporting 2x4Tb HDs in RAID 1 with standard/updated BIOS. We need to create 1x300Gb Server 2012 boot partition and the remaining 3.4Tb (or so) as data.

      Had problems with a Fujitsu server and can’t get a definitive statement from Lenovo as they don’t appear to have a Pre Sales Tech Team.

      Thanks

      By Trevor White on Sep 29, 2014

    12. @Trevor I can not confirm that the 2 x 4TB in RAID 1 using standard BIOs would work, however, put the most current BIOS on the TS140 as it will clean up some other things. If you have the CDs that come with the TS140, you should be able to go ahead then and create the mirror, partition and use the server 2012 setup.

      The main reason I can not confirm is that I do not use the built-in on board RAID, for RAID I use a RAID adapter card.

      I can tell you that 4TB drives work just fine in general both with WinSer2012 (and R2) bare metal as well as VMware 5.5, same with the newer 6TB drives as have some of those on a TS140. Also recently added yet another TS140, they are a bargain when you can find them in diskless config.

      Hope all is well and thanks for the note, let me know how things progress for you.

      By Greg Schulz on Sep 29, 2014

    13. Can anyone confirm that the TS140 supports passthrough/vt-d and vt-x?

      Thank you

      By Nnyan on Dec 12, 2014

    14. Which processor are you looking to use, or have?
      For example, my TS140’s have E3 1225 v3 which support vt-d and other features.
      http://ark.intel.com/products/75461/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1225-v3-8M-Cache-3_20-GHz

      IIRC had to toggle the bios settings when I first got the TS140s to enable the VT functions.

      By Greg Schulz on Dec 12, 2014

    15. @Greg thank you for the reply. The processors all support passthrough/vt-d/vt-x according to ARK. My concern is whether the option is accessible on the motherboard BIOS. I’ve run into a few boards that even though the CPU fully supports the features those features are not accessible via the BIOS.

      By Nnyan on Dec 12, 2014

    16. No worries, assuming your processor supports those items, you should be good.
      I just checked one of my TS140s as was doing some maintenance, looking in the system setup/bios, mine has EIST enabld, VT enabled, VT-d enabled, etc.
      Likewise from VMware ESXi they all look to be working fine.
      Note however you need to go in and make sure those features are enabled via the BIOS.
      Hope that helps
      gs

      By Greg Schulz on Dec 12, 2014

    17. I just got the TS140 server and looking to connect it to external storage via HBA SAS external card. Any idea what model has been tested with this server? I am looking for a decent HBA SAS External card to connect to my JBOD Storage Enclosure…

      By Leo Pard on Dec 14, 2014

    18. I am using 12Gbps (e.g. 93xx) and 6Gbps (e.g. 92xx) LSI (now Avago) SAS HBAs in my TS140s for attaching external JBOD. Have also used those same adapters with different cables for internal. If you are going to attach external, get an adapter with external ports e.g. SAS SFF 8088 mini (6Gbps) or SAS mini HDs (12Gbps). What OS or hypervisor are you going to be using?

      By Greg Schulz on Dec 14, 2014

    19. Can the motherboard accept an upgraded processor that is also a LGA-1150 socket?

      I was thinking of buying a TS140 with the i3-4130 for now, but upgrading to a E3-1276 later.

      By Josh on Dec 16, 2014

    20. @Josh good question, there is what Lenovo supports or sells as available processor options (see there site), and what the system would actually allow physically (e.g. socket) and logically (e.g. via bios support). What I do know is that you could start with one of their models that has the lower performance processor they sell, then replace it with one of the faster ones they support sell. From there you would need to read between their lines ;)

      Have a look at these:

      http://www.lenovo.com/psref/pdf/PSREF_TS140_WE.pdf

      Btw, fwiw, and this will change as I reconfig things often depending on what doing, however one of the TS140s is currently config for a small low cost “high server storage I/O” system running vmw 5.5. It has 32GB RAM, a dual port PCIe G3 12Gbs SAS adapter (one port to external shared storage, other supporting 12Gbs SAS SSDs and HDDs), plus dual port QDR IBA (e.g. 56Gb) along with some extra GbE ports and using the internal SATA ports without breaking the bank. If I didnt need either the fast network adapter, or SAS storage adapter, I could remove one of those and put in a graphics card, however for this scenario no graphics needed…

      By Greg Schulz on Dec 16, 2014

    21. That PDF resource was perfect. It had everything I needed and explicitly stated.

      “One LGA1150 socket, supports one processor from Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3, Core-i3 4000, and Pentium families”

      I can get a TS140 with the i3-4130 bare bones for $219 and then could upgrade the processor and stay in the E3-1200 v3 family with something like a E3-1275 v3

      For me this will serve as an ESXi server for my various dev VMs. Replacing a older ASUS desktop running ESXi.

      The TS140 will actually fit in my mini rack! Bonus!

      By Josh on Dec 16, 2014

    22. @Josh was just looking at the Amazon price for the i3-4130 systems as low as $219, while I would prefer the quad core, for that price can get an i3-1225 v3, off-load the i3-4130s if needed and still do right by the budget.

      Just ordered a couple of more of these to join my TS140 farm ;)…

      By Greg Schulz on Dec 16, 2014

    23. Exactly what I’m doing!

      By Josh on Dec 16, 2014

    24. @Josh perfect, that sounds like a good fit, btw, if you have another server, you can get the QDR IBA cards that also support IPoIB on vmw for around $130 USD each at Amazon, get a single QSFP cable for about $62 USD and you have a low cost, high-speed network between the servers. Granted you will have to load some drivers etc….

      By Greg Schulz on Dec 16, 2014

    25. Thanks for all the great info! Can you recommend an inexspensive RAID controller that will work with the TS14o Xeon version? Just a simple RAID 1 with WD 1TB Reds runing SBS 2003. Thanks!

      By Paul Smith on Jan 10, 2015

    26. @Promod check out the 6Gbs SAS/SATA RAID adapters from Avago (e.g. LSI) that using the -4i/-8i models (e.g. supports internal drives) would work fine. There are different models and prices, also add to your shopping list PMC-Sierra (e.g. Adaptec) among others. You can also find the OEM branded products such as Dell Perc etc.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 11, 2015

    27. Thanks for the quick reply! A Dell card will work in the Lenovo? What are the chances of pulling a controller and array from our current T100, installing it in the TS140 and the data being okay? It is a SAS1068E-IR. I noticed it had a connector to the motherboard which I’m guessing is for holding the configuration. I am not sure of the results if I were to unplug that.

      Also, I noticed the lower priced cards do not have on-board cache. How important is that in a small business environment running some POS software, light duty e-mail server, etc?

      I really appreciate your willingness to help and answer my questions!

      By Paul Smith on Jan 11, 2015

    28. As a follow-up post(s) to the above (Part I and Part II) here is a link to subsequent new post related to the Lenovo TS140 (I ended up buying a couple of more).

      http://storageioblog.com/diy-converged-server-software-defined-storage-budget-lenovo-ts140/

      Also on a related note, here are some posts pertaining to NUC which while Apples to Oranges vs. TS140, they make great companions.

      http://storageioblog.com/server-storage-io-intel-nuc-nick-knack-notes-impressions/

      http://storageioblog.com/server-storage-io-intel-nuc-nick-knack-notes-second-impressions/

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 11, 2015

    29. @Paul no worries, key phrase will be “it should work”. However, make sure to have a good tested backup before trying. I would not unplug the connector without having a tested backup. Where are your drives located, are they internal? How does your existing card (which make model) attach to those drives, are the drives connected via the motherboard, or do you see another connector cable?

      As for the cache, yes lower cost would be without cache, also lower cost without the battery backup unit for write-cache. For a small biz environment if you are doing lots of writes, the write back cache will help. Otoh if you are doing lots of reads, the read cache would be a benefit. So it depends on how much I/O activity are you seeing for example with Perfmon or Spotlight on Windows or other tool…

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 11, 2015

    30. My existing set-up is a Dell T100. It is 6 years old and the power supply recent died during the night. I was fortunate it didn’t corrupt any data. The price on the TS140 was hard to pass up and the Dell will be a good back-up.

      It has a Dell RAID controller. I forget the exact model number on the card. I think ucs-61-b but that number seems to be generic. I know SAS1068E-IR comes up during the boot and I know it has an LSI chip. The card has two ports. Not the typical SFF type. One cable to both SATA ports on the internal drives.

      Would it be possible to remove one of the drives, (which are 750gb WD greens) and install a 1TB and have the RAID rebuild it? Or is there a better way?

      Looking at the RAID cards on Newegg, it is mind boggling with all the different cards that are available!

      By Paul Smith on Jan 11, 2015

    31. @Paul looks like your controller is about 6yrs old as the LSI SAS1068E chipsets are 3Gbs SAS/SATA which is what those systems would have used. 6Gbs SAS/SATA is more current for past several years with 12Gbs now available. I would look into getting a newer 6Gbs SAS/SATA RAID card, do you need only internal drive connections, or do you also need external ports? Some of the RAID cards have both internal and external ports that you can configure.

      I would look at something like one of these Megaraid Sas 9240-8I (if you dont need cache) or SAS9260-8I (with cache) for a new card.

      Likewise make sure you have a good backup (and test it), create a new RAID set and then restore your data to it.

      If you have a mirror/raid set with the 750GB, if you add the 1TB drive, its capacity will be reduced down to 750GB.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 11, 2015

    32. I have to laugh! The RAID controller costs more than the server!

      What is the typical life of the cache battery? I am seeing some 9260 cards w/battery for $150-$175.

      Also came across a new Adaptec 5805ZQ for $100, although, it is only 3Gbs.

      Do you have a preferred method of making a complete backup (with operating system) that could be used to restore to a new RAID set? It’s a total of <80gb.

      By Paul Smith on Jan 13, 2015

    33. @Paul concur, it is funny that the platform is there to host other costly components ;)…

      Battery life should be a couple of years

      I would stay clear of the 3Gb if possible, I have a few of them for if/when needed however moving away from them.

      For a full backup, any decent tool that can do a full image for bare metal restore should work, I use Retrospect, however others such as Acronis and long list of others will do the job. Do you have an extra drive that you can backup up to, then restore from? If the target destination backup drive is the same size or larger then the source you could also use something like clonezilla to do a disk to disk copy.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 13, 2015

    34. I’m guessing that because I am using 2 different RAID controllers, I will need to create the RAID 1 in the new server and then burn the image to it. In theory it should boot up and act like it’s always been there, or am I missing something?

      By Paul Smith on Jan 13, 2015

    35. BTW… I found an IBM 5015 which appears to be a 9260. Should I flash that with the latest BIOS from LSI or should I check to see what Lenovo has?

      By Paul Smith on Jan 13, 2015

    36. @Paul from your existing server with old RAID system, do a image backup or drive clone of the “virtual disk” or what windows/your OS would see (e.g. not the underlying drives). Make this copy/clone to another drive or device that will be the backup and from where you will restore. Test the restore to make sure it works before deleting your old RAID config. On your new server and new RAID, configure it and once the virtual disk/raid drive appears to the OS, you can do the image or bare metal restore or clone to it.

      Original System –> Backup –> New system

      The advantage is that you will have a backup once the new system is up and running.

      Once the image has been restored, cloned or however you will copy, your OS should boot and all look normal.

      The restore or clone should also take care of MBR/GPT and boot, however as part of being prepared, do a quick refresh on what you might need to do if the OS does not boot becuase of a bad MBR or similar (it should be an easy fix).

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 13, 2015

    37. @Paul check to see if Lenovo has a current BIOS and Firmware for the card, iirc saw those listed other day when I was on their site looking for some updates. Otherwise go to the LSI site and grab the sw (BIOS and firmware) for the card and also the sas2flash utility (should be part of the sw kit). Its pretty easy to do, just did a couple of cards other day.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 13, 2015

    38. Hey Greg! Is there a different version of back-up/imaging software needed for Server OS or will the standard Windows version work? Would I install this on the server or on to the external drive I am going to use? And then, if installed on the external drive, would that need to be bootable? Thanks again for your assistance.

      By Paul Smith on Jan 17, 2015

    39. @Paul you can use something like clonezilla, acronis, Seagate discwizard (Acronis only works with Seagate devices), Clonix among others to clone/image from your source to a target destination (or temporary destination), then clone from there to your new target.

      As for boot device, do you have all of your data on the boot drive?

      I would make a separate windows boot/recovery device with a basic windows image which you can use as part of your future BC/DR recovery kit.

      How is your data/applications/storage laid out, is all in one volume, or multiple volumes?
      How will your data/applications/storage be laid out moving forward? Now is an oppourtunity to fix things.

      gs

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 17, 2015

    40. Well, I received my controller and installed. It appears to have the July 2014 firmware so I left it alone. Ran the configuration and set-up for RAID1. Installed my disk image and all went easy. Too easy almost! System would not boot. Just for a test, I got the install disk and booted. All went fine while loading files, however, it BSDed while starting the install. So, for a further test, I grabbed a copy of Server2012. Installed just fine. Rebooted just fine. This leads me to think there is a compatibility issue. Any thoughts on this? Thanks!!

      By Paul Smith on Jan 19, 2015

    41. @Paul congrats on your new controller arriving.

      Refresh me, what OS and version of the OS are you using?

      Couple of things to double check are if the applicable drivers are in place, also verify your BIOS/UEFI settings.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 19, 2015

    42. Windows SBS 2003. I believe SP2 is installed.

      By Paul Smith on Jan 19, 2015

    43. SBS 2003? Ouch ;)

      What are your TS140 BIOS/UEFI boot settings? Do you have CSM/compatibility mode enabled?

      Make sure that you have a bootable image, run the boot repair if needed in case there is a MBR/GPT issue.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 19, 2015

    44. Yes, I know. It was affordable at the time. My POS software is no longer supported and replacing it is astronomical. I can’t even reinstall it due to so many updates that are no longer available. I’ll look at the BIOS in the morning.

      By Paul Smith on Jan 19, 2015

    45. No worries, there is a lot more 2003 based systems out there then people realize or want to admit.
      Otoh, if you need both 2003 and say 2012, put a hypervisor on a server, run both as guests.
      Good luck

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 19, 2015

    46. I’m guessing that is VM type software? Someone else had a similar suggestion. What’s the learning curve on something like that?

      By Paul Smith on Jan 19, 2015

    47. Yes you could do it with Hyper-V and leveraging MSFT knowledge, could also do with VMware ESXi with Windows servers running as guests. Cloud also run nested with Hyper-V (e.g. running on Windows 2012 on VMware). Learning curve is not bad for the basics, its all of the add-on’s that can take more time. However basics are pretty easy if you have an extra disk drive and workstation or even laptop laying around to learn with. For example take an old laptop with an extra disk, install ESXi on it using the extra disk as storage space for setting up VMs. The caveat is that it will be memory starved. So better to use an old workstation that has more memory in it. Once you are comfortable, you can convert your regular servers to virtual machines using the various tools including while they are in use.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 19, 2015

    48. Well, after being transferred a half dozen times, I was told that the server does not support SBS 2003. No real interest in solving the issue, which is somewhat disappointing! Finding the phone number for support was enough to wear one out! I’m not against upgrading. I’m just not confident that my software will function properly. Time to step back and rethink this…..

      By Paul Smith on Jan 20, 2015

    49. @Paul thats too bad, if you can, spin up a vmware esxi host, then do a p2v of your 2003 SBS onto it as one of the guest vm’s, you can then install 2012 or what ever else as other VMs. That way you let VMware do the abstraction of what the hardware or its BIOs or whatever else does not want to do. While I sometimes run bare metal on my TS140s as well as other servers, I usually have vmware esxi on them, then run the various OSs as guests on top. You can start with the free version of ESXi using the vsphere free client, then upgrade as you see fit.

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 20, 2015

    50. What program do you use to flash the 9260? Or is there only one? The M5015 seems to have a signature attached. After reflashing, it indicates success, but it doesn’t seem to change. I’ve tried it several times. Only seemed to work once with older FW. Seemed to work okay but had one long beep every few seconds.

      By Paul Smith on Jan 21, 2015

    51. @Paul most recently I used the StorCli64 (e.g. part of 1.14.12_StorCLI )on a windows based system:

      Once the firmware was downloaded and extracted, I did the following

      Storcli64.exe /c0 download file=mr2108fw.rom

      Alternative would be to use the Megacli program e.g.
      MegaCli64.exe -adpfwflash -f mr2108fw.rom -a0

      Hope that helps, feel free to give me a call and we can discuss

      By Greg Schulz on Jan 21, 2015

    Post a Comment

    Powered by Disqus